visitor’s pass

what’s with the eleventh floor and just visiting?

tea, love?

day 17

arrived lobby entrance. saw him at the counter to register. from afar, he’s the ebizo with hair. tall and broad shoulder, full suit and oh-so-mogul type. he already swiped his visitor’s pass and walked ahead to the lifts. and there was moi, still in la-la-land after stepping out of the train, facing reality and unplugging the earphones out, stuffing it and trent into birkin. swiped my card and walked to the lift.

he was waiting. oh, okay. i said my thanks as i stepped in. he pressed the button of his level (before mine), and i pressed for my floor. he was carrying this thick folder. as the lift goes up, he put the folder down between his legs. and he brought out this sash tie and put it around his neck and turned to me. faham tak? at first both of us were facing the door but the second he put the tie around his neck, he turned himself towards me. sedangkan di setiap penjuru lif itu ada cermin.

dan aku kaku sepatu seperti patung. even patung barbie pun berikan senyuman. tapi aku itu kaku seperti nazirahjadikaku. rigid.

he finished putting on his tie. we arrived to his floor. he picked up his folder and walked out.

+ + +

day 31

arrived lobby entrance. saw him at the counter to register. from afar, he’s good looking in tan and brown ensemble but slightly… not my height criteria. perhaps slightly taller than moi. slightly. swiped his visitor’s pass and me think he’s going to the high zone lifts. and there was moi, with the dreaded monday blues and still yearning for the pillows and bed at home, forced to face the reality and stubbornly still have the earphones plugged incessantly to both ears. swiped my card and walked to the low zone lifts.

he was waiting. with a morning smile. i stepped in and muttered thank you. he pressed for his floor (before mine). it took me a few nanoseconds to realized that he asked for my floor. blur-blurishly i told him. he pressed for it and i said thank you again. my earphones still plugged and the song was ending faintlessly.

as for him, dia start talking to himself sambil mengadap aku. and i wasssss… where was i???

and i was pushed out of the invisible blur-blurish smokes when he said to me, “you have a good day!” as he stepped out to his floor. and i routinely said, “you too!”

and that was it. it hit moi and i was gasping for air as i choked myself with invisible hands at the same time.

+ + +

what’ somebody like you doin’ in a place like this?
say did you come alone or did you bring all your friends?
say what’s your name, whatchu drinkin’
i think i know whatchu thinkin’
baby what’s your sign tell me yours, i’ll tell you mine
say what’s somebody like you doin’ in a place like this

do you come here much?
i swear i’ve seen your face before
you don’t see me blush
but i can’t help to want you more
baby tell me what’s your story
i ain’t shy dontchu worry
i’m flirtin’ with my eye
i wanna leave with you tonight
do you come here much?
i’ve gotta see your face some more
some more, cause baby i

i’ll never be the same
if we ever meet again
won’t let you get away-ay
this freefall, got me so —
kiss me all night
don’t ever let me go
i’ll never be the same
if we ever meet again
i’ll have so much more to say

(if we ever meet again)

Leave a Reply

